Birchin’

Did everyone have a good weekend?  I did!

Last night, I was relaxing, watching CTV’s new show, Once Upon A Time, when I spied with my little eyes an office design that is oh-so-sublime.

Although being inside of it for long periods of time might have a dizzying effect, it’s fun to look at in pictures; not to mention an extremely fitting setting for the evil Queen to reside in.

It got me thinking about how much I enjoy birch tree prints.  Lately, I have been seeing it everywhere and wishing I had a place in my own home to wallpaper.  Sigh, someday.

I think it is tricky to pull off, but when done right – wowwy-wow-wowwww – does it make a statement.

Check out these birchin’ design ideas:

This room is totally over-the-top,  it is a fairy tale set after all.  I love how the entire room is black white and symmetrical all over – it’s frighteningly modern.

Evil Queen's Office from the Once Upon A Time Set

Not brave enough to wallpaper an entire room?  Or maybe you just can’t afford wallpaper? Small accents like this organizer are the perfect solution.

Organizer from This Next

This chair is stunning.  My mom has a set of wingback chairs I am just dying to reupholster with this pattern.  So chic.

Chair from Design Sponge

A cozy cabin feel, birch on the bed is a nice, relatively neutral touch.  I think it would work well in any colour pallet.

Bedding from Pottery Barn

What a creative and simple wall accent for the high ceilings in this modern attic apartment.  Really draws the eye upwards.

Staircase from Design Sponge

Now this is ideal for a renter like me – small, cheap, mobile, goes with everything – not to mention elegantly functional.

Little Birch Tree Jewelry Stand from Urban Outfitters

Will you try adding some birch trees to your space?  In what form?

Eat-In Kitchen from Design Sponge

All in all, I think the birch pattern is bitchin’, no matter how you use it.

I’d love to read your comments!

3 thoughts on “Birchin’

  1. I actually never thought that birch trees could be used to decoarate so tastefully, and like you said modern. You have such a could eye!

Leave a Reply

